Glenwood Springs Demons sweep top honors in 4A WSL All-Conference basketball selections

3A boys all-conference picks also announced

Another chapter has been added to Glenwood Springs High School’s storybook basketball season, as the Demons boys and girls programs both garnered player- and coach-of-the-year honors.

Glenwood Springs landed eight players total, four players each for the Demon boys and girls, among the 4A Western Slope League All-Conference selections.

Leading the way were the dual Players of the Year, seniors Mitchell Burt and Natalya Taylor. And, earning Coach-of-the-Year recognition in voting among their fellow league coaches were Demons mentors Fred Heisel and Rhonda Moser.

Both Demons teams ran the league tables this past season, going 12-0 to win the WSL regular-season championships and advancing to the 4A state playoffs, the Glenwood boys as the No. 2 seed and the girls at No. 12.

The Glenwood girls lost in the Sweet 16 to conclude their season at 21-4 overall with a loss to No. 5 Erie, while the boys made it to the Great 8 before falling to No. 10 Pueblo West last weekend, ending at 22-4.

In addition to Burt, fellow Demons seniors John Iuele, Will Narvaez and Patrick Young were named All-Conference, while honorable mention went to senior Adam Schrader.

Burt, Iuele and Young led the Demons in scoring, averaging 12.5, 13.7 and 8.8 points per game, respectively. Burt had the hot hand from the outside all season long, connecting on 45% of his 3-point shots, and Narvaez was the leading rebounder, pulling down 8.8 caroms per game.

The Rifle Bears, who finished 10-14 on the season and also made a trip to the 4A playoffs, had one All-Conference selection in senior Trey Lujan, while junior Tido Ruiz earned honorable mention among the league selections. Lujan led the team this year averaging 17.9 points per game, while Ruiz was good for 8.7 points per outing.

Lady Demons well-represented

Glenwood Springs Demon Natalya Taylor dribbles the ball past the defending Rifle Bears in action this season.
Chelsea Self / Post Independent |

Joining Taylor in making All-Conference for the Demons girls were senior Qwynn Massie and juniors Graci Dietrich and Maddie Moser, while senior Michelle Marshall earned honorable mention.

Taylor was the team scoring leader, shooting 49% and averaging 11.2 points per game, while Moser had the hot mark from beyond the 3-point arc, connecting on 25 of 61 attempts (41%). Massie, Dietrich and Marshall were team rebounding leaders, pulling down 6.9, 5.1 and 4.7 rebounds per game, respectively.

For the Rifle Lady Bears, junior Mackenzie Elizardo and sophomore Jamie Caron made All-Conference, while seniors April Quinones and Delaney Phillips earned honorable mention.

Caron was the leading scorer for the 10-15 Bears this season, averaging 10.3 points per game, while Elizardo contributed 7 ppg, en route to a 4A playoff run to the second round.

3A boys All-Conference picks also released

Coal Ridge’s Hank DiMarco (#35) and Roaring Fork’s Graham Pietch (#11) were among the boys 3A WSL All-Conference selections.
Chelsea Self / Post Independent

While the 3A girls All-Conference basketball selections will await the fate of WSL champion Delta at the 3A state tournament this weekend, 3A boys selections have been made.

All-Conference selections for Garfield County 3A schools included: from Coal Ridge — senior Austin Gerber (18.9 ppg, 50%) and junior Hank DiMarco (9.3 ppg, 6 rpg);

Coal Ridge’s Austin Gerber pulls up for the shot during action this season.
Kyle Mills/Post Independent

From Grand Valley — sophomore Emilio Garcia (15.2 ppg, 303 points) and senior Blade McCormick (10.5 ppg, 4.5 rpg);

And, from Roaring Fork High in Carbondale — junior Graham Pietch and senior Jaime Vega (no stats reported to Max Preps).

Honorable mention went to Coal Ridge juniors Moises Contreras, Andrew Herrera and Daniel Sanchez; Grand Valley seniors Alex Cornejo and Luis Magallanes; and Roaring Fork junior Tristan Maker.

Gunnison senior Hunter Wood was Player of the Year for the 3A WSL, and Cowboys head coach Matt Smith was named Coach of the Year.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.