Glenwood’s Kaitlyn Johnson named 4A WSL volleyball Player of the Year |

Glenwood’s Kaitlyn Johnson named 4A WSL volleyball Player of the Year

Glenwood Springs senior Kaitlyn Johnson pushes the ball over the net during a game against Steamboat Springs, Saturday, Oct. 12, at Kelly Meek Gym.
Shelby Reardon / Steamboat Pilot

Glenwood Springs High School senior Kaitlyn Johnson has been named the Class 4A Western Slope League volleyball Player of the Year, following the Demons’ league championship season.

Johnson, an outside hitter for the Demons, was one of three Glenwood Springs players selected for the All-Conference first team in voting by league coaches. Joining her were fellow seniors Emily Nilsson and Shanik Zambrano.

WSL Coach of the Year honors went to Wendy MacAskill, head coach for the Palisade Bulldogs.

Johnson helped lead Glenwood to a 20-5 overall record in a season that saw the Demons go 11-1 in the WSL to claim the league title over runner-up Palisade.

The Demons hosted one of the regional rounds of the 4A state playoffs last Saturday, just missing a chance to play in the state tournament this weekend with a 3-1 loss to D’Evelyn.

Participate in The Longevity Project

The Longevity Project is an annual campaign to help educate readers about what it takes to live a long, fulfilling life in our valley. This year Kevin shares his story of hope and celebration of life with his presentation Cracked, Not Broken as we explore the critical and relevant topic of mental health.

In her primary role on the court, Johnson recorded 198 kills on 489 attempts, for a kill percentage of 40.5%, according to season statistics reported to MaxPreps Colorado. She also served for 149 points with 45 aces and a serve percentage of 90.9%.

On the defensive side of the net, she had 15 blocks, behind Nilsson with 29, sophomore Charlotte Olszewski (honorable mention) with 25 and junior Kiah Larson with 20.

Zambrano and Nilsson also each served for 141 points for the Demons, and Olszewski led the team with 25 blocks.

4A WSL Volleyball All-Conference selections

Player of the Year — Kaitlyn Johnson, Sr., Glenwood Springs

Coach of the Year — Wendy MacAskill, Palisade

First Team: Kaitlyn Johnson, Emily Nilsson and Shanik Zambrano (Glenwood Springs); Kendall MacAskill and Caylee Chutka (Palisade); Sky Lieurance and Sophia Rinn (Eagle Valley); Tatum Hoffman, Carly Post and Sofi Petrovski (Battle Mountain); Marcada Baker and Lauren Ehrlich (Steamboat Springs)

Honorable Mention: Reese Goluba, Kenzie Winder and Charlotte Olszewski (Glenwood Springs); Maddy Valencia and MacKenzie Elizardo (Rifle); Magdalena Letek, Alesia Yanowich and Cassandra Miller (Palisade): Emma Judge (Battle Mountain); Olivia Fedrizzi (Eagle Valley); Taryn Wade and MacKenzie Westenskow (Summit County)

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more