Gridders named to 2A WSL All-league team |

Gridders named to 2A WSL All-league team

Staff ReportGlenwood Springs, CO Colorado

Leading Roaring Fork in touchdowns and powering through opposing teams for multiple 100-plus yard games, Ram senior Jake Kinney was a strong candidate for Class 2A Western Slope League Running Back of the Year.Unfortunately for Kinney, he came out second in the voting to Aspen running back Tucker Eason. Kinney’s accolades, which include numerous tackles as a punishing linebacker and a few passes as quarterback, still put him on the Western Slope All-League first team, and he also was named WSL Kicker of the Year for his strong leg on kickoffs and extra points.Kinney’s two fellow seniors on the 2007 Ram squad, Travis Hawkins, a lineman, and Dietrich Minor, a wide receiver, were also handed first-team selections. Minor was the leading receiver for Roaring Fork this year, as well as a skilled defensive back. Hawkins was a key member of the offensive and defensive line for the Rams, blocking for runners like Kinney and recording a handful of sacks against opposing quarterbacks.Three juniors were also named to the first team from the Coal Ridge Titans. Running backs Josh Alsop and Bradey Gasaway and lineman Evan Wagstrom earned spots, guiding the Titans to their best season yet – a season that included the team’s first varsity win in its three-year history.Five Roaring Fork juniors received honorable mention in running backs/defensive backs: Soren Phibbs and Nate Soucie, quarterback/wide receiver/linebacker Ryan Wiemer, wide receiver/linebacker Cameron Ellis and lineman Jon Araujo. Coal Ridge wide receiver/defensive back Alex Klein and lineman Kevin Laidlaw, both juniors, were also given honorable mention.

Coach of the Year: Dennis Fraser, Gunnison Running Back of the Year: Tucker Eason, Sr., Aspen Lineman of the Year: Scott Redden, Sr., Gunnison Kicker of the Year: Jake Kinney, Sr., Roaring Fork Punter of the Year: Jesus Suazez, Sr., OlatheArea Selections First Team Roaring Fork: RB/QB Jake Kinney, Sr.; Travis Hawkins, Sr.; Dietrich Minor, Sr. Coal Ridge: Bradey Gasaway, Jr.; Josh Alsop, Jr.; Evan Wagstrom, Jr. Honorable mention Roaring Fork: Soren Phibbs, Jr.; Ryan Weimer, Jr.; Nate Soucie, Jr.; Cameron Ellis, Jr.; Jon Araujo, Jr. Coal Ridge: Alex Klein, Jr.; Kevin Laidlaw, Jr. n

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User