Horns, Rams top 3A all-league picks | PostIndependent.com

Horns, Rams top 3A all-league picks

The ballots are in.

And the all-star teams are complete.

The 3A Western Slope League basketball all-conference teams were announced this week, with several area athletes honored.

The all-league basketball teams and the honorable mention selections were determined in voting by the 3A conference coaches.

On the girls side, a host of players from Roaring Fork and Basalt high schools were selected all-Western Slope League this year.

Basalt senior point guard Molly McGrath led all voting and was named the league’s player of the year. She helped the Longhorns charge right into the State Tournament, where they finished as consolation bracket champions.

The Longhorns lost only twice all season – once at 4A state qualifier Moffat County and once in the first round of the State Tournament’s round of eight.

McGrath was joined by teammate Mariah Mulcahy on the all-conference team. Mulcahy is a junior.

Roaring Fork High School, returning to the state playoffs this season, landed three players on the all-Western Slope League team.

They were led by sophomore center Tarn Udall, senior guard Emily Markham and junior forward Brie Bath.

Two more Rams earned honorable mention honors. They included seniors Caroline Cretti and Jenna Nicholson.

Basalt had three players named to the honorable mention list. They were Lauren Redfern, Christie Thompson and Stephanie Kemp.

Three Aspen players made the all-league first team. They were 6-foot-2 junior Lizzie Suiter and seniors Muriel Hale and Lacee Patterson.

Other all-league players on the girls side included Kristen Simler of Cedaredge, Jessica Roeber of Paonia, Sara Peacock of Rangely, Cassie Hutto of Cedaredge, Stacey Poulos of Paonia, Rylee Miller of Rangely, Julia Groome of Hotchkiss, and Brie Hotz of Cedaredge.

Additional honorable mention selections included Liza Russell and Amy Heilig of Cedaredge, Arianne Morrison and Cassidy Wright of Rangely, Bethany Anderson of Paonia, Talitha Henderson and Brandi Gray of Olathe, Sam Stewart of Meeker (a freshman), Ranae Romero of Gunnison and Jessica Willenborg and Amanda Jones of Eagle Valley.

Coach of the year honors were shared by Amy Vinson of Cedaredge and Tim Cannell of Paonia.

For the boys, Jake Brooks of state runner-up Cedaredge led the way as the player of the year in voting by the conference coaches.

Von Mitchell, the Cedaredge coach, was selected the boys coach of the year.

Roaring Fork landed a pair of seniors on the all-conference team – Juan Quintero and Kaid Harris.

Basalt’s Ki Mulcahy, a senior, also was voted all-league.

Dan Moebius of Basalt also was named to the all-league honorable mention list.

Aspen had two boys on the all-league team, including junior Nick Farrell. He finished just behind Brooks in player-of-the-year voting.

Senior Jeff Brence of Aspen also made the all-conference team. Brett Mufson, Josh Lackey an Phil Salazar were named to the honorable mention list for the Skiers, who reached the final eight of the State Tournament.

The Skiers lost to previously unbeaten Denver Christian in the state quarterfinals.

Eagle Valley’s Micah Bernhardt and Sam Bartlett were voted to the all-league team. Devil teammates Craig Jagger and Blake Scott were named all-league honorable mention.

Other all-league boys selections included DJ Sherwood of Olathe, Robert Hawk of Hotchkiss, Jeff Hainy of Cedaredge, Sean McGraw of Meeker, Matt Burke of Hotchkiss, Noel Coleman of Gunnison, Kurt Kissner of Cedaredge and Adam Camacho of Hotchkiss.

The honorable mention list also included Drew Sullivan and Nate Bullis of Cedaredge, Jason Hamrick of Hotchkiss, mark Collins and Steve Young of Gunnison, Kevin Hejl and Tyler Dall of Rangely, and Pat Simpson of Paonia.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User