Longhorns lead charge on 2A WSL All-Conference teams | PostIndependent.com

Longhorns lead charge on 2A WSL All-Conference teams

Following an impressive season in which they went 5-4 (4-1 in 2A Western Slope League) that included three straight wins over Roaring Fork, Battle Mountain and Aspen, the Basalt Longhorns were awarded with four 2A First Team All-Conference nominees, Friday, when the teams were released, joining Battle Mountain as the other team in 2A with four members on the first and second teams.

Senior wide receiver/linebacker Cameron Firmin, junior running back/linebacker Ian Lumsden, junior quarterback/defensive end Miles Levy and junior offensive lineman/defensive lineman Cullen White represented the Longhorns.

Levy threw for 731 yards and eight touchdowns during the 2015 season, while Lumsden rushed for 526 yards and three scores. Firmin hauled in 23 passes for 320 yards and two scores to lead all Longhorns receivers. White recorded 24 total tackles defensively in just five games.

Due to strong showings throughout a 4-5 (2-3 2A WSL) campaign, senior running back/defensive end Tyler Spence, senior offensive/defensive lineman Conrado Dolores and senior running back/linebacker Finn Featherstone represent the Rams on the first team All-Conference list.

Spence carried the ball 88 times for 557 yards and six scores on the ground, while also hauling nine passes for 150 yards and a score to go along with 138 passing yards and two scores.

Dolores and Featherstone recorded 31 and 17 tackles respectively, while Featherstone added 202 rushing yards and 106 receiving yards for the Rams.

For the Coal Ridge Titans, who went 3-6 (1-4 2A WSL), senior offensive lineman/linebacker Nathan Nelson, senior wide receiver/safety Brandon Kuersten and sophomore running back/linebacker Jacx Power were named to the first team of the 2A All-Conference squad. Stats were not readily available on Max Preps for the Titans.

Along with first team members for each school, Basalt, Coal Ridge and Roaring Fork had a handful of players named to the 2A second team All-Conference list.

Sophomore fullback/linebacker Alex Alberto, sophomore tight end defensive end Raul Torres, sophomore offensive lineman/defensive lineman Oswaldo Morales and junior wide receiver/defensive back Kyle Roberts represented the Longhorns.

Junior running back/linebacker Cameron Chacon, junior wide receiver/safety Jacob Morgan and senior offensive/defensive lineman Nathan Manriquez represented the Titans on the second team.

Senior running back/linebacker Max Slack, junior tight end/defensive lineman Kade Kennedy and junior offensive/defensive lineman Reed Featherstone represented the Rams.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


Rifle football puts away Salida, 63-6

Bears senior Bryce Rowly picked up a quarterback sack nearly midway through the first quarter. The next play, with Salida deep in their own zone and desperate for yards, junior Broc Caldwell intercepted a pass…

See more