Rifle coach nabs top award; Demons’ Sutherland, Daniely also feted by league | PostIndependent.com

Rifle coach nabs top award; Demons’ Sutherland, Daniely also feted by league

It was the year of the Bear in the recently completed 2003-04 Class 4A Western Slope League girls basketball season. So it figured, Rifle would dominate when it came to the selection of the all-league as well.

Three members of the unbeaten WSL-champion Bears were chosen to the first team in a vote by the league’s coaches.

Senior Krista Wagstrom, along with juniors Kristin Neffendorf and Renee Laudick were named to the 12-member team.

Wagstrom was also honored as the 2003-04 WSL Player of the Year. Rifle’s Rick Schmitz, who piloted the Bears to a perfect 12-0 league season, was named as the league’s Coach of the Year.

For Wagstrom, who signed a letter-of-intent to play at Division II Mesa State College next fall, it was the second straight year of being chosen to the all-league first-team.

According to the Rocky Mountain News, Wagstrom led Rifle with a 13.7 points per-game average. Neffendorf, the Bears’ point guard for three seasons, led the team in assists, while Laudick paced Rifle in rebounds, along with a nine-point-per-game average.

Two more Bears ” Julie McWilliams and Haley Hubbell ” earned honorable mention. It was the second selection to the honorable mention list for senior McWilliams.

Rifle opens the Class 4A state playoffs tonight at home against Ralston Valley from the Jeffco League.

Two Glenwood Springs seniors ” Amber Sutherland and Nikita Daniely ” also made the all-league first team. Sutherland averaged 12.1 points per contest for the 12-10 Demons. Daniely, an honorable mention pick as a junior, tossed in eight points per outing this season.

Both of Glenwood’s starting guards, Keegan Nadon and Yuri Salvidrez, won honorable mention honors.

Moffat County and Steamboat Springs were the only other WSL schools with two players chosen to the all-league squad. Junior Brandi Telfer from the second-place Bulldogs made the team for the second consecutive year, along with teammate Ashlee Haley, a first-time selection.

Senior Erin Christensen and junior Kayla Kosher represented Steamboat.

The rest of the 2003-04 all-WSL first team included Battle Mountain’s Sara Lybarger, Jess Buchheim of Delta, and Palisade forward Krysten Hays. All three are seniors. Other players making the honorable mention honor list were Erin Robinson and Stephanie Brown of Moffat County, Shelley Dunlap from Steamboat, Katie Edmiston of Palisade, Battle Mountain’s Alexis Guinn and Kelsey Dysart of Delta.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User