Rifle sweeps 4A WSL All-Conference softball honors | PostIndependent.com

Rifle sweeps 4A WSL All-Conference softball honors

66 stolen bases help earn Phillips Player of Year honors

Rifle’s Delaney Phillips, right, slides safely into second base on a steal in a game Sept. 19 against Meeker in Rifle.
Kyle Mills / Post Independent

The Rifle High School girls softball team hit for the cycle when it came to the postseason 4A Western Slope All-Conference selections announced on Monday.

Player of the Year honors went to senior infielder Delaney Phillips, while senior teammate Hannah Bodrogi was named Pitcher of the Year. In addition, coach Troy Phillips was bestowed with Coach of the Year honors in the league voting.

In all, the Bears had six first-team selections and two honorable mentions (see accompanying information box).

After recording the best season in school history last year, the relatively young Bears returners this season finished an impressive 20-7 overall, and won the WSL title at 4-0.

Rifle advanced from the regional round of the state playoffs two weeks ago, before the Bears’ season came to a close with a 15-3 loss to Wheat Ridge in the opening game of the state tournament Oct. 25.

4A WSL Pitcher of the Year Hannah Bodrogi.
Kyles Mills/Post Independent

On the season, Phillips and Bodrogi both put up some impressive statistics, including a whopping 66 stolen bases for Phillips.

Phillips concluded the season with a .693 batting average through 26 games. She had 61 hits on the season, including eight doubles and 25 runs batted in, and she crossed the plate 64 times herself. On defense, Phillips had a fielding percentage of .932.

Bodrogi, as a pitcher, finished the season at 14 wins, 5 losses through 21 starts and 25 appearances, with seven complete games and an ERA of 5.88.

4A WSL Softball All-Conference selections

Player of the Year — Delaney Phillips, Rifle

Pitcher of the Year — Hannah Bodrogi, Rifle

Coach of the Year — Troy Phillips, Rifle

First Team: Delaney Phillips, Hannah Bodrogi, Zoey Loya, Emma Poole, Hailey Worton and Abigail Bonuales (Rifle); Cassie Bittner, Melissa Carroll, Jordan Bauer and Nivyia Rivera (Palisade); Carissa Cassidy and Ariana Pena (Eagle Valley)

Honorable Mention: Raelynn Hampton, Kaylie Stark (Rifle); Mya Balerio, Trinity Hughes, Janell Heald (Palisade); Tori Stone, Mya Bishop and Grace Symanski (Eagle Valley)



Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User