Rifle’s Aaron Jewell, Jim Owens net first-team honors | PostIndependent.com

Rifle’s Aaron Jewell, Jim Owens net first-team honors

League coaches named local basketball players Aaron Jewell and Jim Owens of Rifle High School and Sean Flohr of Glenwood Springs to the 2003-04 Class 4A all-Western Slope League boys basketball team.

It’s the second time for Owens and Flohr to earn first team honors from the league’s coaches, who also tabbed Flohr, a Demon junior, as the 2003-04 WSL Player of the Year.

Flohr and Battle Mountain sophomore Connor Drumm were the only non-seniors selected to the 12-person all-league squad.

Two other Glenwood players, senior Jeff Screen and sophomore Michael Flohr, earned honorable mention.

The balance of the first team includes Blake Carlquist and Steve Morales of Delta, Anthony Loughran and Cody Palmer of Moffat County, Kyle Re’ and Devin Borvansky of Steamboat Springs and Michael Embrey and Ryan Farlow of Palisade.

A trio of Steamboat players ” Nick Monterotti, Scott Peterson and Scott Ayers ” received honorable mention. Other honorees included Derek Duran and Kevin Loughran of Moffat County, Chris Romero of Battle Mountain and Brian Austin of Palisade.

Kelly Meek of Steamboat Springs was voted Coach of the Year.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User