Roaring Fork, Coal Ridge rake in 3A WSL boys soccer all-league awards |

Roaring Fork, Coal Ridge rake in 3A WSL boys soccer all-league awards


Player of the Year: Clayton Kirkwood, Sr., Vail Mountain

Coach of the Year: Nick Forbes, Roaring Fork


Lalo Clemente, Sr., Roaring Fork; Ben Carpenter, Sr., Roaring Fork; Erik Carrillo, Sr., Roaring Fork; Ariel Palomera, Sr., Roaring Fork; Abe Hernandez, Sr., Roaring Fork; Clayton Kirkwood, Sr., Vail Mountain; Dylan Cunningham, Jr., Vail Mountain; Tommy Miller, Sr., Vail Mountain; Trevor Shelden, Sr., Vail Mountain; Enrique Bucio, Sr., Coal Ridge; Chaz Apostolik, Sr., Coal Ridge; Miguel Navarro, Jr., Coal Ridge; Joel Brice, Sr., Aspen; John Heaphey, Sr., Aspen; Edwin Delcid, Sr., Basalt; Eduardo Sandoval, Sr., Rifle; Ulises Silva, Soph., Moffat County; Christian Vicencio, Soph., Grand Valley.


Misael Ramos, Sr., Roaring Fork; Raul Leyba, Sr., Roaring Fork; Lorenzo Andrade, Soph., Roaring Fork; Bridger Gille, Fr., Vail Mountain; Kade Manula, Sr., Vail Mountain; Alex Gutierrez, Sr., Coal Ridge; Ray Bencomo, Jr., Coal Ridge; Connor Pierce, Sr., Aspen; Harry Hahn, Soph., Aspen; Matthew Anderson, Jr., Basalt; Enrique Rodriguez, Soph., Basalt; Alex Rivas, Sr., Rifle; Alex Arellono, Sr., Moffat County; Matt Cornelius, Soph., Grand Valley.

Five members of the Roaring Fork High School boys soccer team received first-team, all-league honors and three players from Coal Ridge received the same recognition when the Class 3A Western Slope League’s all-league team was released early this week.

The Rams, who won the league championship, received five first-team awards and three honorable mentions. Also winning an award from the league was Rams coach Nick Forbes, who was named the league’s Coach of the Year following Roaring Fork’s league title.

Coal Ridge, which advanced to the 3A quarterfinals for thee third consecutive season, had three first-team award winners, with Rifle and Grand Valley each having one.

Each of the five Roaring Fork first-team winners — Lalo Clemente, Ben Carpenter, Erik Carrillo, Ariel Palomera and Abe Hernandez, earned a first-team nod. Making the first team from Coal Ridge was seniors Enrique Bucio — the league’s Player of the Year in 2013 — and Chaz Apostolik along with junior Miguel Navarro.

Rifle High School senior Eduardo Sandoval was the Bears’ lone first-team award winner. Christian Vicencio was named to the first team for Grand Valley.

Winning the league’s Player of the Year award for the 2014 season was Vail Mountain senior Clayton Kirkwood. Award winners are determined by the league’s coaches following the regular season.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User