Roaring Fork Women’s Triathlon Team competes at Outdoor Diva Triathlon |

Roaring Fork Women’s Triathlon Team competes at Outdoor Diva Triathlon

The Roaring Fork Women’s Triathlon Team, which took 51 members of its team to the Outdoor Diva Triathlon in Longmont on July 29, saw four members finish in the top three of their age groups, while co-founder Nancy Reinisch completed her 100th career triathlon in Longmont.

The team trained for 13 weeks under head coaches Sharma Phillips and Carla Westerman, as well as assistants Terry Heggy, Kathy Westley, Tesia Zuba, Heidi Halladay, Amy Spradlin, Jeanette Chiappinelli, Margot Fishman, Jessie Johnson, Jenny Schaiberger, Sherrie Setterberg and Nancy Zeigel. The women completed a half mile open-water swim, 12.9 mile bike ride, and a 5K run at Union Reservoir.

Phillips (second place) 40-44 age group, Halladay (second place) Elite age group, Lucy Laffoon (third place) Elite age group, and Margot Fishman (second place) 70-74 placed in the top three of their respective age groups for the triathlon team.

Members of the team range in age from 15-70 and reside between Basalt and Rifle. The team travels to the front range annually to complete a sprint distance triathlon. The team is sponsored by Dental Lab Technologies, Sunshine Travel, Berthod Motors, Garfield County Episcopal Churches, Colorado Foot and Ankle, Dalby Wendland, Glenwood Insurance, Glenwood Hot Springs, The Fishman Family, Holy Cross Energy, Great Western Painting, A4 Designs, Big Horn Toyota, Jimmy Johns, Road Runner Mobile Bike Service, Barnes and Pearson, and Alpine Bank.

Roaring Fork Women’s Triathlon Team members who participated in the Outdoor Diva Triathlon on July 29 were (in alphabetical order): Nettie Avery, Carolyn Balmer, Gaby Bello, Jen Butterfield, Jeanette Chiappinelli, Esther Claridge, Cheryl Cormier, Kelicia Costello, Susan Cottle, Cheryl Currier, Deborah Cutter, Sheldon Emery, Gloria Farmer, Kimberly Feder, Margot Fishman, Shawna Fishman, Raquel Flinker, Kimberly Gent, CJ Gredig, Claire Guidas, Heidi Halladay, Cindy Hester, Alexandria Johnson, Kathy Johnson, Laura Kirk, Leslie Krick, Lucy Laffoon, Beth Leyva, Penny McDill, Jacque McMillan, Amy Moore, Nancy Neff, Lisa Niehaus, Carla Ober, Brenna Owen, Taylor Smith, Sharma Phillips, Katherine Proctor, Nancy Rae Reinisch, Terri Ritchie, Betsey Seymour, Sandi Spencer, Andrea Thompson, Carla Westerman, Ann Wilcox, Jill Wilson, Anna Wiltse and Nancy Zeigel.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User