Roaring Fork Women’s Tri Team rocks it at Tri for the Cure |

Roaring Fork Women’s Tri Team rocks it at Tri for the Cure

Celebrating its largest team in the past 18 years, 65 members of the Roaring Fork Women’s Triathlon Team crossed the finish line of the Denver Tri for the Cure Triathlon on Sunday, Aug. 6.

The team trained for 14 weeks under head coaches Nancy Reinisch and Judy Haynes, as well as assistants Kathy Westley, Mary Jay, Terry Heggie, Jacque McMillan, Carol McCurry, Heidi Halladay, Katie Soden, Carla Westerman, Sharma Phillips, Tianna White and Janet Earley.

The women completed a 750 meter swim, 20K bike ride, and a 5K run at Cherry Creek State Park.

Six members finished in the top three in their age groups: Tess Jankovsky (first place) 30-34; Sharma Phillips (second place) 35-39; Jeannette Chiapinelli (third place) 45-49; Carla Westerman (first place) 50-54; Sherrie Setterberg (first place) 55-59; and Jeanne Sheriff (second place) 65-69.

Members of the team range from 30-73 and reside between Aspen and Rifle. The roster includes eight cancer survivors. The team travels to Denver annually to complete the Tri for the Cure and raise funds for the Bright Pink Cancer Research foundation for young cancer survivors. The team is sponsored by Alpine Bank, Dalby Wendland and Co., Glenwood Hot Springs Resort, Independence Run and Hike, Sunshine Travel, Returning Balance Massage, Dental Lab Technologies, Jimmy Johns, and Great Western Painting.

In alphabetical order finishers at the Tri for the Cure are: Tanya Allen, Lori Andrews, Gaby Bello, Lori Boardman, Kristin Burks, Wendy Caldwell, Jeannette Chiappinelli, Laurie Ciani, Andrea Coe, Kelicia Costello, Susan Cottle, Karen Cox, Deborah Cutter, Cindy Davis, Jamie Darien, Lauren DeAre, Janet Earley, Sheldon Emery, Lorraine Escue, Tina Fang, Gloria Farmer, Margot Fishman, Jami Friday, Ginni Galicinao, CJ Gredig, Claire Guidas, Heidi Halladay, Angela Hanley, Judy Haynes, Cindy Hester, Adriana Hire, Wendy Huber, Tess Jankovsky, Jessie Johnson, Emily Kushto, Lucy Laffoon, Mari Lliteras, Carol McCurry, Jacque McMillan, Janet McNutt, Melissa Miller, Valerie Nau, Lisa Niehaus, Maureen Nuckols, Shawna Parks, Sharma Phillips, Lynn Pulford, Nancy Reinisch, Terri Ritchie, Susan Ross, Sherrie Setterberg, Jeanne Sheriff, Katie Soden, Missy Taucher, Andrea Thompson, Gail VanDerbeck, Christa Wagner, Nicole Wenger, Carla Westerman, Tianna White, Ann Wilcox, Tari Williams, Jill Wilson, Sarah Windholz and Nancy Zeigel.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User