Soccer players shine in 3A/2A all-league awards |

Soccer players shine in 3A/2A all-league awards

Staff Report


Player of the Year: Tess Johnson, Fr., Vail Mountain School

Coach of the Year: Bob Bandoni, Vail Mountain School


Tess Johnson, Fr., Vail Mountain; Kristen Vossler, Sr., Vail Mountain; Emma Hall, Fr., Vail Mountain; Olivia Manula, Fr., Vail Mountain; Mariela Martinez, Sr., Coal Ridge; Jenny Call, Jr., Coal Ridge; Dana Kotz, Soph., Coal Ridge; Sam Dunn, Fr., Coal Ridge; Jessica Coxon, Sr., Aspen; Katherine Miletteo, Sr., Aspen; Logan McNamee, Jr., Aspen; Emily Fisher, Sr., Roaring Fork; Kayla Derby, Sr., Roaring Fork; Delaney Baker, Sr., Moffat County; Jessie Raitt, Soph., Vail Christian; Megan Smith, Sr., Grand Valley; Kaity Johnson, Jr., Basalt; Brenda Deloera, Sr., Rifle; Simone Heinle, Sr., Rangely.


Sydney Sappenfield, Soph., Vail Mountain; Annie Blakslee, Jr., Vail Mountain; Olivia Giaccio, Fr., Vail Mountain; Maddie Donovan, Soph., Vail Mountain; Molly Mello, Sr., Coal Ridge; Nicole Mooney, Soph., Coal Ridge; Theresa Martin, Jr., Aspen; Lindzhi Douglass, Jr., Aspen; Ruby Lang, Sr., Roaring Fork; Elle Derby, Soph., Roaring Fork; Kaylynn Haefs, Soph., Moffat County; Hannah Walker, Jr., Moffat County; Keelin Robinson, Sr., Vail Christian; Gabby Coleman, Jr., Grand Valley; Callie Card, Soph., Basalt; Veronica Santoyo, Sr., Rifle; Courtney Bell, Jr., Rangely.

Four of the five Garfield County high school girls soccer teams that are in the Class 3A/2A Western Slope League received all-league recognition when the awards were determined following the completion of the regular season.

Coal Ridge, Roaring Fork, Rifle and Grand Valley each received first-team and honorable-mention awards from a panel of coaches throughout the league. Only Colorado Rocky Mountain School, which didn’t have a representative at the postseason all-league meeting, was not recognized on the team.

Coal Ridge, which managed a second-place finish in the league standings behind Vail Mountain, had four first-team award winners. They included senior Mariela Martinez, junior Jenny Call, sophomore Dana Kotz and freshman Sam Dunn.

Earning a first-team award for Roaring Fork was a pair of seniors in Emily Fisher and Kayla Derby. Megan Smith, a Grand Valley senior, also earned a first-team award. Brenda Deloera, a Rifle High senior, was also named to the first team.

Each of those four schools also had honorable mentions on the all-league list. For Coal Ridge, sophomore Nicole Mooney and senior midfielder Molly Mello were honorable mentions. Senior Ruby Lang and sophomore Elle Derby were honorable mentions for Roaring Fork, Grand Valley junior Gabby Coleman was an honorable mention, and Rifle senior Veronica Santoyo was also an honorable mention.

Vail Mountain, which won the Class 2A state championship on Tuesday with a 2-1 victory over Dawson School in Denver, had the player of the year in freshman Tess Johnson along with the coach of the year in Bob Bandoni.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.