Titans’ Wiescamp 3A WSL volleyball Player of Year in all-conference selections | PostIndependent.com

Titans’ Wiescamp 3A WSL volleyball Player of Year in all-conference selections

Coal Ridge’s Taylor Wiescamp blasts a shot past Moffatt County’s Cayden King during a September match against Moffat County.
Kyle Mills / Post Independent

Area Class 3A prep volleyball players were well-represented in the Western Slope League All-Conference selections, including the league’s Player of the Year.

Coal Ridge junior Taylor Wiescamp earned the top player honors in voting by league coaches, and was named to the 3A All-WSL first team along with two of her teammates. Joining her were fellow juniors Brecken Guccini and Phoebe Young.

Coach of the Year honors went to Heather Dunbar, head coach of the Cedaredge Bruins volleyball team.

Wiescamp was a big part of the Titans’ success this season, compiling 246 kills with a kill percentage of 56%, plus 168 service points and an ace percentage of 13.7%. On the defensive side, she led the team with 116 total blocks on the season

Coal Ridge won the WSL regular season title this fall, as the Titans went 8-1 through league play and 17-8 overall. Under the direction of head coach Aimee Gerber, the Titans earned a trip to the 3A regionals last weekend.

Participate in The Longevity Project

The Longevity Project is an annual campaign to help educate readers about what it takes to live a long, fulfilling life in our valley. This year Kevin shares his story of hope and celebration of life with his presentation Cracked, Not Broken as we explore the critical and relevant topic of mental health.

3A WSL Volleyball All-Conference selections

Player of the Year — Taylor Wiescamp, Coal Ridge

Coach of the Year — Heather Dunbar, Cedaredge

First Team: Taylor Wiescamp, Brecken Guccini and Phoebe Young (Coal Ridge); Lucia Penzel (Roaring Fork); Loghan Teter and Ryley Sackett (Grand Valley); Samantha Andrade and Karina Bauer (Basalt); Makayla Kehmeier, Kammie Henderson and Baylee Harris (Cedaredge); Jenna Wise (Gunnison); Haylin McCulloch and Raelee McCurdy (Delta).

Honorable Mention: Lyanna Nevarez, Ari Cornejo and Taylor Roberts (Coal Ridge); Letey Crownhart (Roaring Fork); Kirstin Medina (Grand Valley); Lecsi Glenn and Lexi Lowe (Basalt); Reganne McIntire, Hannah Carlson and Elizabeth Gilmore (Cedaredge); Erika Kuta and Jillian Carlson (Delta); Shaylee Mangum (Gunnison); Kat Goraika (Aspen); Jacie Evenson (Moffat County); Laura Galvan (Olathe).

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more