Tour winner Froome confirmed to compete in USA Pro Challenge |

Tour winner Froome confirmed to compete in USA Pro Challenge

Staff Report

Marking one of the best fields ever assembled on American soil for a professional cycling race, the provisionary team rosters for the 2013 USA Pro Challenge have been confirmed and are headlined by the No. 1 and 2 riders in the world — 2013 Tour de France Champion Chris Froome (GBR) of Sky Procycling and 2013 Tour de France Sprint Jersey Winner Peter Sagan (SLO) of Cannondale Pro Cycling.

Froome and his team will be racing in Colorado for the first time this year.

The USA Pro Challenge will take place Aug. 19-25 and will travel through eight official host cities on a scenic tour through the Colorado Rockies. Emphasizing the competitive level of the field, the race will include six current national champions — Fred Rodriguez (USA), Hayden Roulsten (NZL), Luis Enrique Lemus (MEX), Michael Olsson (SWE), Michael Schär (SUI) and Peter Sagan (SLO). Additionally, the race will host six former Olympic medalists and multiple riders who have captured a stage win at the Tour de France.

“The diverse field of cycling stars participating in the USA Pro Challenge presents an opportunity to celebrate the sport of cycling on a global scale,” said Rick Schaden, owner of the USA Pro Challenge. “As the race continues to grow, we are seeing increasing enthusiasm from both the fans and the riders, and these impressive rosters are a testament to that.”

The 2013 USA Pro Challenge will include five of the top-10 finishers from last year, including 2012 Champion Christian Vande Velde and second-place finisher Tejay van Garderen. Also featured will be other riders from last year’s final podium, with KOM Champion Jens Voigt and Best Young Rider Joe Dombrowski returning to defend their titles. Additionally, the current and former USPRO National Champions in road race will line up in Colorado (Fred Rodriguez — 2013, Timmy Duggan – 2012).

“This competitive level of the field for the 2013 USA Pro Challenge is by far one of the best that has ever raced on American soil,” said Shawn Hunter, CEO of the USA Pro Challenge. “Chris Froome swept headlines last month after winning the Tour de France and to have him on the start line for the USA Pro Challenge will be amazing. The competition this year should be faster and tougher than ever.”

The elite professional roster of teams, which includes 128 riders from 31 countries, is comprised of seven teams that competed in the Tour de France, four Pro Continental teams and five Continental teams.

On Saturday, Aug. 17, the teams will be introduced to fans at the opening ceremonies and official team presentation, taking place at Base Village Plaza in Snowmass. Celebrity hosts Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen will introduce the teams and riders. The presentation is free and open to the public, with parking available in the lower lots and parking garage at Snowmass Village.

Following is the preliminary list of riders that will be competing in the 2013 USA Pro Challenge.

UCI ProTeams

BMC Racing Team (USA) @BMCProTeam

Tejay van Garderen (USA)

Stephen Cummings (GBR)

Mathias Frank (SUI)

Michael Schär (SUI)

Greg Van Avermaet (BEL)

Lawrence Warbasse (USA)

Julien Taramarcaz (SUI)

Brent Bookwalter (USA)

Cannondale Pro Cycling (ITA) @cannondalePro

Peter Sagan (SVK)

Damiano Caruso (ITA)

Alessandro de Marchi (ITA)

Edward King (USA)

Nariyuki Masuda (JPN)

Fabio Sabatini (ITA)

Juraj Sagan (SVK)

Davide Villella (ITA)

RadioShack Leopard Trek (LUX) @RSLT

Andy Schleck (LUX)

Ben King (USA)

George Bennett (NZL)

Tony Gallopin (FRA)

Andreas Klöden (GER)

Tiago Machado (POR)

Hayden Roulston (NZL)

Jens Voigt (GER)

Sky Procycling (GBR) @TeamSky

Christopher Froome (GBR)

Richie Porte (AUS)

Joshua Edmonson (GBR)

Ian Boswell (USA)

Joseph Lloyd Dombrowski (USA)

Peter Kennaugh (GBR)

Danny Pate (USA)

Kanstantsin Siutsou (BLR)

Team Argos-Shimano (NED) @1t4i

Patrick Gretsch (GER)

Thomas Damuseau (FRA)

Simon Geschke (GER)

Tann Huguet (FRA)

Tobias Ludvigsson (SWE)

Luka Mezgec (SLO)

Michael Olsson (SWE)

Nikodemus Holler (GER)

Team Garmin-Sharp (USA) @Ride_Argyle

Christian Vande Velde (USA)

Thomas Danielson (USA)

Thomas Dekker (NED)

Rohan Dennis (AUS)

David Millar (GBR)

Lachlan David Morton (AUS)

Andrew Talansky (USA)

David Zabriskie (USA)

Team Saxo-Tinkoff (DEN) @TeamSaxoTinkoff

Michael Rogers (AUS)

Anders Lund (DEN)

Bruno Pires (POR)

Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN)

Jay McCarthy (AUS)

Rory Sutherland (AUS)

Timothy Duggan (USA)

Jesper Hansen (DEN)

UCI Professional Continental Teams

Champion System Pro Cycling Team (CHN) @TeamChampionSys

Chad Beyer (USA)

Gang Xu (CHN)

Gregory Brenes Obando (CRC)

Chris Butler (USA)

Craig Lewis (USA)

Ryota Nishizono (JPN)

Chun Kai Feng (TPE)

Ying Hon Yeung (HKG)

UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team (USA) @UHCprocycling

Lucas Euser (USA)

Alessandro Bazzana (ITA)

Jonathan Clarke (AUS)

Benjamin Day (AUS)

Philip Deignan (IRL)

Christopher Jones (USA)

Jeffry Louder (USA)

Kiel Reijnen (USA)

Team Novo Nordisk (USA) @TeamNovoNordisk

Fabio Calabria (AUS)

Javier Megias Leal (ESP)

David Lozano Riba (ESP)

Joonas Henttala (FIN)

Martijin Verschoor (NED)

Andrea Peron (ITA)

Kevin de Mesmaeker (BEL)

Christopher Williams (AUS)

COLOMBIA (COL) @Col_Coldeportes

Edwin Alcibiades Avila Vanegas (COL)

Julio Alexis Camacho Bernal (COL)

Robinson Eduardo Chalapud Gomez (COL)

Marco Corti (ITA)

Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (COL)

Jarlinson Pantano (COL)

Michael Rodriguez Galindo (COL)

UCI Continental Teams

Bissell Pro Cycling (USA) @BissellCycling

Phil Gaimon (USA)

Jason McCartney (USA)

Jeremy Vennell (NZL)

Christopher Baldwin (USA)

Jonathan Patrick McCarty (USA)

Carter Jones (USA)

Michael Torckler (NZL)

Kirk Carlsen (USA)

Bontrager Cycling Team (USA) @BontragerCT

Nathan Brown (USA)

Lawson Craddock (USA)

Antoine Duchesne (CAN)

Ryan Eastman (USA)

Connor O’Leary (USA)

James Oram (NZL)

Tanner Putt (USA)

Nathan Wilson (USA)

Optum Presented by Kelly Benefit Strategies (USA) @OPTUMpbKBS

Alexander Candelario (USA)

Marsh Cooper (CAN)

Jesse Anthony (USA)

Michael Friedman (USA)

Tom Zirbel (USA)

Thomas Soladay (USA)

Ryan Anderson (CAN)

Ken Hanson (USA)

Jelly Belly p/b Kenda (USA) @JellyBellyTeam

Fred Rodriguez (USA)

Morgan Schmitt (USA)

Ian Burnett (USA)

Alex Hagman (USA)

Serghei Tvetcov (MDA)

Sean Mazich (USA)

Luis Lemus (MEX)

Nic Hamilton (CAN)

Jamis-Hagens Berman p/b Sutter Home (USA) @TeamJamisHB

Janier Alexis Acevedo Calle (COL)

Juan José Haedo (ARG)

Matt Cooke (USA)

Tyler Wren (USA)

Carson Miller (USA)

Luis Romero Amaran (CUB)

James Driscoll (USA)

Ben Jacques-Maynes (USA)

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.