Wild nets co-MVP honors | PostIndependent.com

Wild nets co-MVP honors

Post Independent Writer
Glenwood Springs High School's Heidi Wild, left, fights for the ball with Melissa Keltner of Battle Mountain during a game at Glenwood Springs High School. Wild was named the co-MVP of the Class 4A Western Slope League. Post Independent File Photo/ Jim Noelker

Staff Report

Glenwood senior Heidi Wild won her second league MVP in the last three years, and the Rifle Bears landed a pair of players on the Class 4A Western Slope girls soccer all-league team recently.

Wild, who also took the MVP honor as a sophomore, shared the award with sophomore Kelly Labor of league champion Steamboat Springs this year.

The Glenwood captain anchored the Demons squad from the sweeper position and helped settle the young squad with ball control and passing. Wild was also among the team’s top scorers.

Joining Wild on the WSL’s first team is Rifle senior forward Brenda Cruz and freshman goalie Kadie LaRocque. Cruz, one of just two seniors on the Bears squad, helped Rifle to a third-place finish in the league standings and a trip to the postseason. LaRocque was the last line of defense for a Rifle team that finished the season with five shutouts.

Rifle and Glenwood each had two players earn honorable mention: senior Anna Peterson and freshman Tess Flanagan for the Bears, and Glenwood senior Abby Willman and junior Kaitlyn Otto for the Demons.

Battle Mountain’s David Cope was named the league’s coach of the year.

For a complete all-league list, see Scoreboard on page A25.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.