Letters to the Editor Glenwood Springs Colorado | PostIndependent.com

Letter To The Editor

Letter: Cable, satellite packages greedy

February 22, 2018 — The greed that has attached itself to our country is not unnoticed. Complaints are loud about many issues that are not even constitutional responsibilities of the federal government. However, we do have mandates regarding nationwide communications. The greatest scam going on that affects nearly every

Learn more »

Letter: Rally to support Dreamers

February 22, 2018 — Congress needs to hear from us. Last week, fantasy almost became reality when the Senate nearly passed $25 billion in funding for Trump's border wall in exchange for protections for the Dreamers, the undocumented young people who came to this country illegally as minors. Dreamers

Learn more »

Letter: Common sense regarding guns

February 21, 2018 — In response to Sheriff Lou Vallario's thoughts on gun control as shared on his Facebook page, and the front page of this paper, well, they seem pretty thoughtless to me. Vallario uses the same nonsense answer that we have been hearing for years now: that

Learn more »

Letter: Arm teachers with resources

February 20, 2018 — It's always amusing to me how much attention public schools get after a tragedy, like the one in Florida or the many others that have occurred in the past few years. Everyone has an opinion about it, from arming teachers to creating a police state

Learn more »

Letter: Help wanted

February 20, 2018 — Nation with a population of 324 million seeking a mature, professional leader. Ideal candidate would not lie on a daily basis, hire inexperienced people for cabinet level positions, demand parades from his military, or build useless walls. Candidate would acknowledge when other countries interfere in

Learn more »

Letter: ‘Accessible’ restrooms a must

February 19, 2018 — The Glenwood Springs Post Independent recently noted the urgent and critical need to replace the city's downtown public restrooms. We wholeheartedly agree, but the editorial did not specifically mention that accessibility for everybody is an essential element of the new facilities. The public plaza spaces

Learn more »

Letter: Dems ‘blew it’ alright

February 19, 2018 — Ah, Bruno. It's always refreshing reading your musings in the PI. You are certainly consistent, if not redundant, in your self-professed nationalist leanings. In your recent letter "Democrats Blew It" you couldn't have hit the nail on the head any harder. Democrats definitely blew it.

Learn more »

Letter: Democrats blew it

February 18, 2018 — Those dummy Democrats blew it big this time. When The Donald offered the misguidedly generous terms of a path to citizenship for almost 2 million illegal aliens those "progressive prodigies" turned it down out of hand. Had they accepted, the Dems could have driven a

Learn more »

Letter: Support sportsmen access

February 18, 2018 — For several years Colorado Parks and Wildlife (CPW) personnel have been reaching out to hunters and anglers to raise awareness about CPW's increasingly harmful budget conundrum. And there's legislation currently in the state Senate (SB18-143) that will help fix this problem. "This bill … would

Learn more »

Letter: Stop taking NRA money

February 18, 2018 — I call upon our members of Congress, Rep. Scott Tipton and Sens.  Bennet and Gardner, to immediately cease accepting contributions from the National Rifle Association. According to polls, a majority of Americans think gun laws should be more strict, and very large majorities agree with

Learn more »

Letter: Making Russia great again

February 17, 2018 — The U.S. Intelligence community has warned that the Russians are planning to meddle in the 2018 U.S. midterm elections. The lack of any real punishment for the 2016 election intrusion makes our country an easy target. This bodes ill for a fair election since our

Learn more »

Letter: Council appointment suggestion

February 17, 2018 — As a result of Ms. Trauger's recent resignation from Glenwood Springs City Council you are in a rather unique position of being allowed to fill the vacant seat with a person of your choosing at your March 1 council meeting. Hopefully, you can come to

Learn more »

Letter: Full S. Midland fix now

February 16, 2018 — With regards to funding south Midland avenue improvements, if we do not have adequate funds to do this work right (including 6-foot sidewalk and Four Mile roundabout), then we have no business entertaining dreams of a South Bridge connection. The South Bridge master plans include

Learn more »

Letter: More to mammography story

February 16, 2018 — I read with great interest your front page article (2/12) about Valley View Hospital's new 3D mammogram machine. Thank you for bringing to our attention the importance of mammography in the early detection of breast cancer and highlighting the improved technology now available to detect

Learn more »

Letter: Embrace messy vitality at South Canyon Hot Springs

February 15, 2018 — South Canyon Hot Springs is an interesting area. It has been maintained for decades by people from Aspen to Rifle, in many different forms, despite being regularly having its bridges, trails and pools torn apart by what was considered to be agents of the Glenwood

Learn more »

Letter: City needs to represent us

February 15, 2018 — Over two years ago when "opening the Blake-gate" was covered in the GWPI, the reporter cited that this gate, established over 30 years ago, was intended to "protect the adjacent neighborhood from the traffic generated by Roaring Fork Marketplace." Continuing growth makes this agreement even

Learn more »

Letter: South Canyon response

February 14, 2018 — I resent it when someone twists my words to suit their own avaricious purposes. Steve Beckley's response to my recent opinion piece does exactly that. Mine is not just an "idealist description" of the wildlife in South Canyon. It is a factual representation supported by

Learn more »

Letter: Develop S. Canyon springs

February 14, 2018 — In regard to Steve Beckley's option to study the South Canyon city property, I would like to state, it is about time. My family has owned property at the five mile marker since 1992 and has seen nothing happening to let anyone enjoy this land.

Learn more »

Letter: Bruno responds

February 13, 2018 — To Ruth Senta ( PI Letters-2/1): I understand the difference between a promise you or I might make, Ruth, and campaign rhetoric. Show me a politician who keeps all his "promises" and I'll show you a mute politician. As for John Hoffmann (PI Letters 2/3)

Learn more »

Letter: Beware mammogram sales pitch

February 13, 2018 — Sallee Ann Ruibal's feature (2/11) about mammography at Valley View Hospital is poor journalism, pure and simple. Yes, routine mammography saves some lives and new equipment leading to earlier detection may well save a few more. But, many of these cancers would never cause real

Learn more »