RFWTT competes at Outdoor Diva Triathlon | PostIndependent.com

RFWTT competes at Outdoor Diva Triathlon

Members of the Roaring Fork Women's Triathlon Team at the Outdoor Diva Triathlon in Longmont.

The Roaring Fork Women’s Triathlon Team celebrated it’s 20th season by taking 54 women to the Outdoor Diva Triathlon in Longmont on August 18.

The team trained for 13 weeks under Head Coaches Sharma Phillips and Carla Westerman, as well as assistant coaches Heidi Halladay, Jeanette Chiappinelli, Margot Fishman, Jessie Johnson, Sherrie Setterberg and Nancy Zeigel. Swim Coaches were Terry Heggy, Tesia Zuba, Kathy Westley, Steve Vanderhoof and Paul Salmen.

The women completed a half-mile swim, 12.9 mile bike ride and 5k run all at, and around Union Reservoir in Longmont.

Two members of the team finished in the top 3 at the race, as Marla Korn placed third in the 50-54 age group, and Jamie Boutilier took top honors in the First Timers category.

Members of the team range in age from 28-71 and reside between Aspen and Rifle. The roster includes five cancer survivors. The team travels to Longmont annually to complete the Outdoor Diva Sprint Triathlon. The team is sponsored by Alpine Bank, Dalby Wendland and Co., Glenwood Hot Springs, Dental Technologies Sunshine Travel, Returning Balance Therapies, Treadz, Jimmy Johns, Great Western Painting, Barnes Pearson and Assoc, A4 Designs, Rocky Mountain Mobile Bike Services Garfield County Episcopal Churches, Glenwood Insurance, and Holy Cross Energy and the Fishman and Flohr Families.

In alphabetical order, team members are: Cath Adams, Nettie Avery, Carolyn Balmer, Jamie Boutilier, Andriana Chance, Annette Chiappe, Jeanette Chiappinelli, Esther Claridge, Lindy Clarke, Kate Collins, Stacee Dalrymple, Shauna Dekker, Karen Dixon, Sheldon Emery, Gloria Farmer, Kim Feder, Margot Fishman, Rachelle Fleming, Linda Flohr, Angie Fowler, Gina Giuliani, Julie Gordon, Heidi Halladay, Nikala Harris, Jessie Johnson, Mallory Kaufman, Laura Kirk, Marla Korn, Leslie Krick, Kristine Leahy, Paula Matheson, Jacque McMillan, Margaret Medellin, Nancy Neff, Taylor Nicola, Lisa Niehaus, Laura Nieslanik, Carla Ober, Brenna Owen, Elia Pfaff, Sharma Phillips, Kathryn Quint, Mackenzie Rehm, Terri Ritchie, Jamie Roth, Sherrie Setterberg, Betsey Seymour, Taylor Smith, Sandi Spencer, Kelly Thomas, Johna Varty, Carla Westerman, Jill Wilson, Luci Wilson, Anna Wiltse, Jashine Wise, Nancy Zeigel

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.